Archived Support Site

This support site is archived. You can view the old support discussions but you cannot post new discussions.

Archived entry Save and Close sets status to "draft" and other button oddities...

chris's Avatar

chris

08 May, 2012 02:23 AM

The "workflow" of the buttons across the top needs a bit of caressing.

I know this is not typical but if I want to modify an archived post (typically I do this because I want to update the entry title as I might want to create a new page with the same title) it should stay in it's archived state. Instead I get options to "Save and Close" which turn it into a draft or "Publish" which open the entry.

Another more pertinent dilemma is that if an item is Published already there's no way to just send it back to "draft" status without hitting "Archive" and then hitting "Save and Close."

Thanks for your help and consideration of this request.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Luke Davies on 08 May, 2012 02:45 PM

    Luke Davies's Avatar

    Hi Chris,
    The current workaround to your situations are as you have described:
    Publish to draft
    Archive > Save and close
    Update archive
    You will have to briefly re-publish the entry before closing it again.

    Yes, there are 2 clicks rather than 1 and we'll look at options of moving more easily between statuses in a future release.
    Thanks,
    Luke

  2. 2 Posted by loren.klingman on 25 Aug, 2012 02:09 PM

    loren.klingman's Avatar

    I wanted to revive this discussion again to mention the confusion caused to myself when I opened a closed entry and pressed "Save and Preview" (assume the user just wants to remind themself of what this entry looked like). When I close the preview, the entry has suddenly become a draft.

    I would expect the archive button to still be present for an entry with the status of "archive" and for save and preview to leave my entry in the archive. Changing an archived entry should not require publishing and then re-archiving.

    Third, as mentioned above, I would like the ability to just send a whole entry back into draft status without having to go through archive. More or less the Revert to Draft button, but for Publishers to use when "rejecting" their own or another publishers work.

  3. Support Staff 3 Posted by Malcolm Elswort... on 29 Aug, 2012 09:24 AM

    Malcolm Elsworth's Avatar

    Hi Loren,

    Thanks for your comment.

    As part of the restructuring of the JavaScript in version 1.3+ we are working towards a Workflow editor which will enable users to define the statuses they want to use and how their users moved between them. Once this is in place you will be able to define the archiving behaviour yourself.

    Best wishes,
    Malcolm

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac